I Found You

I Found You Book Cover I Found You
Lisa Jewell
Fiction
Atria Books
April 25, 2017
Advanced Reader Copy
352
Publisher via BookReporter.com

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My review:

One of my favorite books is The House We Grew Up In by this author. While this book is very different from that one, I still got the same feeling from Jewell's writing. Her words seem to flow across the page (not too many, not too few), and her characters are always well developed. This book is a mystery/thriller, and had me from the first chapter trying to figure out the identity of the man with amnesia. Was he the same man that never came home to his new wife one night? What relationship did he have with the alternating story set over a dozen years earlier? There are lots of twists and turns along the way, but the main focus for me was on the characters, and how they developed and grew along the way. Each was looking for something other than the obvious, and in the end I felt that they found it, and themselves. The only niggling point I could make was that I found some of the actions of the mothers in the book to be a bit unsettling, although that doesn't mean that it's not what others would do or think. I'm fairly certain that this author can write a winner in many different genre's, and I'm excited to continue exploring her works.

A riveting page-turner that will have you trying to figure things out, while at the same time getting a wonderful array of characters to watch grow into themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *